Rain and Rugby

The weather is absolutely awful here at the moment. We have massive rainstorms and even a so-called weather-warning due to too many water falling down. I can easily understand why … it’s bad outside!  We had the same amount of rain today as we normally have in the whole month of October!

wateroverlastPhoto taken near where I live (nos.nl)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAPhoto taken by me. Rain in the pond opposite my house.

I’m just glad it didn’t rain yesterday. My twelve year old nephew, Gerke, had a rugby tournament and I promised to come and watch him play. It was great. They played three matches and won all three. Gerke played extremely well, so well his coach decided to take him out of the game two minutes before the end to allow the audience to applaud him. How cool is that!

I also saw another side of him. He is the team’s captain this year and it was great to see him taking control and responsibility. As captain he is responsible  all players know where to be and what to do and talk to the referee and the opponent’s team captain.  He was so much more mature all of a sudden.  His team mates listened to him and looked at him every time they needed guidance. It was awesome to see. He also took upon himself the task of coaching one of the new players. He is really doing good (says a very, very proud auntie, lol)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThat weird black thing is his mouth-piece. One day I will have to tell him not to pop it out all of the time, lol.

Only one week to go and we will have one week off. Little miss Julia will come and stay with me for a few days, brother & co and I will visit a safari park and we will visit dad (not the same thing!). So my week off is already almost fully booked. But with fun things! I can’t wait!

 

 

 

Categories: Family, Home, Netherlands, weather | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Rain and Rugby

  1. But isn’t rolling around in the mud one of the best things about rugby?

  2. This really makes me want to come watch Gerke play rugby! I absolutely love to watch a boy who plays with confidence and is able to help make his team mates better. A player like that makes a team a winning team.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

naykidblog.wordpress.com/

nayk.d | performing & creative artist

Fight to Finish

Sharing with you the many sides of combat sports

shenrydafrankmann

Hopeful honesty from simple sentences

