This, that and a swim

Well, it looks like summer has finally ended here. After weeks and weeks of high temperatures and sun we now face a week of cold, rainy weather. I can’t say I feel too sorry. I’m not overly fond of hot weather … I love the cool, crisp air of Autumn.  And a bit of rain was long overdue …  the farmers are rejoicing now.

At school the kids are getting used to the daily routine and me, lol. They are very aware this final year at our school will be so important for them.  As twelve year olds they will leave our school at the end of this school year and go to a sort of middle school.  We have different kinds of middle schools, depending on intelligence and skills. That’s why, in November, all my kids will have their final exams. Together with their results from previous years their parents and we will decide what kind of middle school is best for them. An important year for them, a busy year for me.  But I love the responsibility and all that comes with it.

Yesterday over two thousand people too part in the Amsterdam City Swim, a swim through the canals of Amsterdam. It’s is an event dedicated towards raising funds for a motor neurone disease called ALS. This year they raised over 1.5 million Euro. And everyone who took part got a medal and a hot shower at the end. I love initiatives like this. It makes me proud to be part of a country that’s creative and, even in the middle of a financial crisis, willing to give generously.

I leave you with a short video of yesterdays event …

Categories: Netherlands, School, weather | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “This, that and a swim

  1. I’m waiting for work to end, then on my bicycle for the ride home. It’s almost 95 degrees F here. I am going to be thankful my commute is a lot shorter now! And I too am waiting for the cooler autumn temperatures.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

naykidblog.wordpress.com/

nayk.d | performing & creative artist

Fight to Finish

Sharing with you the many sides of combat sports

shenrydafrankmann

Hopeful honesty from simple sentences

