Home again!

Being back home after three weeks vacation in Austria takes some getting used to.  Especially as I went with my brother and his family. Three weeks with the kids was awesome. Being back home, living alone, the silence is deafening.  I miss them.

Having said that,  the time we spend together was great fun. It was terribly hot so we had to go up the mountain a lot to enjoy some more manageable temperatures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the mountains. I even managed some stiff walks … not a small feat with my bad knees.Of course I prefer these lovely gondolas to get up a mountain,  lol.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our visit to the Kitzstein Horn was literally and figuratively a high point. It’s a 3000 meter hight mountain peak (about 9800 feet) with amazing views over the Alps and the Karavanke Mountains. I went with brother and nephew and we had a blast! We even saw eagles! We don’t have them in the Netherlands (or at least not in the wild) so it was quite something to see them flying around (no photo of them, sadly).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2013-08-02 12.51.31

Our visit to the Habachtal (Habach Valley) was memorable because nephew managed to find some tiny semi-precious stones in the debris of an avalanche. He was so proud!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And when we walked down we had some beautiful views (again).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all a great vacation! And luckily I still have two weeks off so I’ll have ample  time to settle in and slowly start getting used to normal life again.

I’ll be off to hospital on Wednesday for an endometrial biopsy. I’ve never been to hospital before and I never had an epidural so I’m a little bit nervous.  They told me it will only take a few hours before I’m home again so I guess it won’t be a big deal. And then I just have to wait for the results …

Categories: Family, Me, Nature, Vacation | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Home again!

  1. Beautiful vacation. :-)

    May all go smoothly on Wednesday.

  2. Lucky you! OH my, those are fabulous photos. I am so jealous. I would love to go there again as an adult (went when I was maybe 6 or 7 and don’t remember much). I would take my kids because I think holidays with kids (although at times can be a bit draining) is wonderful because they see & do things that adults sometimes miss, don’t you think. :-)

    • I definitely agree! I went there last year without the kids and even though I enjoyed myself it wasn’t as much fun. I like it more with them around :)

  3. yeah!! A great post Riete – enjoyed the photos and the rundown on the vacation!! I love the mountains – miss them very much so was nice to be back there again in your photos. I too hope it all goes well for you – not much you can do about it and worry will not change things!! God Bless

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

naykidblog.wordpress.com/

nayk.d | performing & creative artist

Fight to Finish

Sharing with you the many sides of combat sports

shenrydafrankmann

Hopeful honesty from simple sentences

