My day off rambles

Today is my day off. Now normally I would sleep in, have breakfast, read my paper and then slowly start to think about what to do. Not today though ….

This morning I had to go to the doctor to bring some “samples” and visit the lab in our local hospital for some blood-work. I’ve been walking around with a nasty abdominal pain for two weeks now so this was the time to get to doctor to look at it. I visited him yesterday and luckily he was very reassuring … for now there is no sign of it being a bad situation.

But then again, there’s only so much you can see during a quick visit. And as there’s definitely something wrong with my colon further examination is necessary. Hence the “samples” and the blood-work *groan*

On a much brighter note …  as the lab is close to our main Mall here in town it gave me the opportunity to go shopping for a nice birthday present for my little niece. She turns six next week and she was very outspoken in what she wanted – Lego “Friends” with horses. Well, Aunt Riete went to the toy shop to buy Lego.

https://i2.wp.com/static.bartsmit.com/1303117892/data/products/300x300/0487121.jpg

 

I’m her only aunt here in the Netherlands (her other uncle and aunt live in Australia) and she is my only niece so that means I spoil her (and her eleven year old brother, my only nephew) rotten of course. LOL They are also the two kids I take with me to Germany next week, on a short vacation. We’ll be back right in time for niece’s birthday.

But for now I have this day to myself, more or less. I do have to be in school this evening though, for a meeting with parents about Middle School. My pupils will leave our primary school at the end of this school year and that means  they will go to a totally different school. They and their parents need to be prepared for that, so representatives of the various middle schools we have in town will give a talk this evening.

Interesting but a little sad that it’s on my day off.

Categories: Family, Health, Me | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My day off rambles

  1. I hope that pain will clear up quickly.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

naykidblog.wordpress.com/

nayk.d | performing & creative artist

Fight to Finish

Sharing with you the many sides of combat sports

shenrydafrankmann

Hopeful honesty from simple sentences

