Things I’ll ask in heaven

I read this blog by Kevin Childs (http://kevinchilds.com) a few weeks ago and I had to laugh. This is exactly what I always say to the kids in my class, “When I get to heaven I will ask … ”
Well, not everything he mentions is an immediate concern to me but a lot is on my list too.

I wonder what you would add

Things I’ll Ask in Heaven

How many times have you heard somebody say, “When I get to Heaven, here’s the first thing I’m going to ask God …”? I don’t think there will be any of that. Heaven isn’t about getting our curiosity satisfied. Heaven isn’t about personal mansions, or personal bliss, or even reunions with loved ones. Heaven is about Jesus. The heavenliest thing about Heaven is Jesus. His glory will eternally illuminate the whole place (Rev. 21:23). I personally believe we’ll be SO blown away by the glory of Jesus that NO question will distract us from that magnificence for all of eternity.

Having said that, however, I would like to ask a few. Since I likely won’t even care then, I’ll ask them now:

Was it really necessary to preserve gnats? Mosquitoes? People who drive slowly in the passing lane?
Cats really are evil, aren’t they?
Can you explain the predestination / free will thing?
How old, exactly, IS the creation?
Did a witch really raise the spirit of Samuel?
What kind of nation would be have been if the South had won the War of Northern Aggression?
What tipped the scales at ballgames when Christians on both teams (and fan bases) prayed for a win?
What was the rationale behind rarely if EVER putting ovaries and clock management skillz in the same humans?
Did you even care, at all, about worship “style?”
How about coat ‘n tie vs. casual?
When you defended that woman who was caught in adultery, and you stooped down to write something in the dirt, what did you write?
Could You have put the cholesterol in the yuck food instead of the steaks and burgers?
Were you ever actually “teaching me something” when I was behind slow drivers in the passing lane?
What was up with Ted Haggard?
Did Billy Graham ever cuss?
Which denomination got it right? OK, closest to right? OK, sort of closest?
How many U.S. presidents were actual Christians? Oh, true, I’ll just look around Heaven. Shoulda thought of that. My bad.
You thought TBN was uber-tacky too, didn’t you? Please please please say YES.
What is THAT guy doing up here?
Where was the dividing line between permissible irreverent humor and sacrilege? (Holding my breath … if you can do that in Heaven)
Was the internet a net gain, or loss – spiritually speaking?
What was Your own personal favorite “nature scene?” Seascape or mountains? Niagra Falls or desert sunset?
What exactly happened between the crucifixion and resurrection?
How many times did You personally step in and save me from dying?
What were some miracles in my life that I was too worldly-minded to see at the time?

That’s a start. What did I leave out?

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Things I’ll ask in heaven

  1. hiya Riete – just dropped by to click the follow button and have a look about. nice yo are here on wordpress too – my fvourite site. I have made a seperate site just for photography and the one you connected to is much like the multiply style for sharing with friends. Look forward to the new world outsideof multiply – do not know about you ut there is a sense of liberation – leaving the nest and stretching the wings with all learned from days of the Multiply nest!

    • Hi! It’s good to meet friends outside Multiply too ;)
      It was quite a journey as I never ventured outside but now I’m glad to have found a few sites I like.

      Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

There and Back Again

a redhead's journey

naykidblog.wordpress.com/

nayk.d | performing & creative artist

Fight to Finish

Sharing with you the many sides of combat sports

shenrydafrankmann

Hopeful honesty from simple sentences

